Photo Credit: Getty Images

Our man on the ground – Mike Jansen – is the founder and administrator of BlitzBokke.com He currently lives in Hong Kong where he also runs www.howzit-hongkong.com, his view of a South African living in Asia’s World City. Rugby runs in his blood and the mere mention of Springbok Sevens Rugby brings a shiver to his spine and most often, a happy tear to his eyes. His blood, to the day… remains GREEN. 

He reports:

I have just returned from yet another Hong Kong-style Official Draw for the 2011 Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens.
So without any other fancy nonsense, here is the low-down:
* 12 teams were seeded (before tonight’s draw) in 6 pools (A-F) based on their position on the official IRB HSBC Sevens World Series log namely:
New Zealand, England, Samoa, Fiji, South Africa, Australia, France, USA, Scotland, Kenya, Wales and Argentina.
* The THIRD group (teams 13-18) were then drawn (tonight) into the 3rd tier of the 6 Pools. These teams were:

Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Portugal, Russia, and Tonga.
* The FOURTH group (teams 19-24) made up the 4th tier to complete the draw (tonight) for the 6 Pools of the Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens:

China, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Spain and Zimbabwe.
The draw was effected and the results are as follows:
Pool A: New Zealand, France, Portugal, Korea
Pool B: England, USA, Japan, China
Pool C: Samoa, Scotland, Tonga, Mexico
Pool D: Fiji, Kenya, Russia, Malaysia
Pool E: South Africa, Wales, Hong Kong, Spain
Pool F: Australia, Argentina, Canada, Zimbabwe

Photo Credit: Getty Images